The Committee of Agronomic Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences, operates within the Department II of Biological and Agricultural Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

The Committee's scope of activities covers the field of agriculture and horticulture, including agronomy, plant protection, plant breeding, agricultural biotechnology, agricultural engineering, soil science, agrophysics, agricultural microbiology, agricultural economics and related areas.

The Committee's tasks include undertaking all activities aimed at the development of abovementioned areas in Poland and in the world, and the use of scientific achievements for the benefit of the national economy. In the present term, the Committee focuses on:

  • The impact of global climate changes on agriculture;
  • The production of nutritious and safe agricultural products, including low input and organic farming;
  • Protection of the agricultural environment and biodiversity;
  • Sustainable agriculture.

Presidium of the Committee of Agronomic Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences:

Head - Prof. dr hab. inż. Dariusz Grzebelus - University of Agriculture in Krakow

Deputy Head - Prof. dr hab. Artur Zdunek – Institute of Agrophysics PAS

Deputy Head - Prof. dr hab. inż. Mariusz Matyka – Institute of Soil Science and Plant Cultivation – National Research Institute

Secretary - Prof. dr hab. inż. Joanna Puławska – Institute of Horticulture – National Research Institute


Prof. dr hab. Ewa Zimnoch-Guzowska – Plant Breeding and Acclimatization Institute - National Research Institute

Dr hab. inż. Małgorzata Szczepanek – University of Science and Technology in Bydgoszcz